The Grass Is Greener On The Other Side

I am not very patriotic. I appreciate the fact that I live in a land that stands for freedom. I know that there are some places that I could not live in because of my beleifs. I also know that there are other countries that could not handle my position as a woman and my loud bitchy mouth. 

Every time this year people start asking “Making plans for the 4th?”. I dread it, I really do. I don’t make plans for the 4th. I don’t get excited, I don’t plan any cookouts. If I get invited somewhere I will go and participate but I don’t  go all out trying to enjoy the holiday. Lots of people tend to take this wrong. I get called un-American….ALOT. And truth be told, I would love to move out of the country. I tend to think of places like Amsterdam or Germany. Places where you don’t hear about a big blowup over a shoddy election. Places that don’t appear to be suffering so badly that people are begging for crumbs in the street (maybe they are…just ain’t heard anything like that). The only thing holding me back are my hubs and kids. I am not so selfish that I would demand that we uproot our entire family so that I can live somewhere else.

Whenever this topic has come up I hear “people always think the grass is greener on the other side”. I don’t necessarily think that life would be 100% better elsewhere, I do think it could improve. Obviously there has to be some level of improvement to even consider that kind of move. But until the day comes where the kids and hubs wants to move I am here. Prepping myself for the upcoming onslaught of shock and dismay at my lack of enthusiasm over the 4th.

~ by alegna75 on June 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Grass Is Greener On The Other Side”

  1. Well, I do enjoy celebrating the 4th… but I wouldn’t mind moving either. For me its the thought of my kids getting a better education, better health care, more opportunities, etc. Life is good here, but I don’t think we’re better than anyone else… and obviously we have room for improvement. Same goes w/ other places. On top of that, I’ve spent a good bit of time in Tanzania… where there are people out begging, I’ve seen lepers even… but I loved it there and even in a place like that we’re its obviously “third world” we can stand to learn from them.
    Btw, sorry for my lack of stopping by. Comp issues. Long story.

    • I agree…we are far from a Utopia society! I have traveled some out of the country, but I don’t remember it because I was an army brat as a baby. The earliest memory I have of military life is when I was 3 and living on base at Fort Knox, KY. I really want to travel and see what else is out there. I don’t think the media portrays life outside the US remotely close to what it really is. I also think itwould be awesome if everyone got to visit a 3rd world country and really see life on the other side.

Comments are closed.

 
