Full Moon Esbat

Tonight I was a good girl and did an esbat meditation ritual. One of the recent articles over at Modern Pagan was about spur of the moment rituals. I am very guilty of being a planner. I plan everything. So rituals sometimes became cumbersome due to my inability to just relax. So tonight, in light of me starting a new journey down a “new” path, I decided to put to use what I read in the article. I did gather some supplies but I had no idea what I was going to do. As I was setting up the altar outside it dawned on me. I should just do a meditation spell and connect with one specific deity. There were suggesting in Circle of Isis on sort of how to do that and I remembered a couple things. So I decided…full moon…awesome Bastet sitting on my living room table….I am going to connect with Bastet tonight.  So I finished setting up getting all excited. Since I was winging it, I decided not to call corners. I did take a moment to reflect on each of the elements but nothing real formal. Since kids were in bed and to get to the backyard (where I normally do my outside rituals) I have to go out front door and walk down back…AND hubby isn’t here, I opted to do the front yard. I won’t do that again, it’s much too noisy on my street with all of the cars driving by and my neighbors were a bit nosey on what it was I was doing. Don’t forget I live 4 houses down from a Baptist Church and some of the neighbors are members, so concentration was difficult. Anyhow once I cast my circle, reflect on the elements, I sat before my statuette of Bastet and began meditation. I inwardly chanted her name out repeatedly until she came forth. We were able to converse for a short while. I won’t go into great detail but basically it was “about time you came to me” and “finally you are on the right path!” (if I haven’t mentioned it or you are a new reader…I have been obsessed and reading about the Ancient Egyptians since I was 9). Unfortunatley Alex woke up and came outside and interrupted us. But it turned into an education session for him. He wanted to know what everything was and what it was for. I don’t think he will remember any bit of it come tomorrow but it was nice to share it with him.

~ by alegna75 on June 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “Full Moon Esbat”

  1. That was interesting, thanks for sharing… Don’t really know what else to say lol.. but I have to admit I got a kick out of the Baptist thing (issues there). Kinda reminds me of when we had a parade for Our Lady of Guadalupe’s feast day and stopped right in front of the coC connected to my school and were praying the rosary/dancing/singing.. Got all sorts of looks and part of me just loved it. I’m mean that way though…

    • LOL that is hilarious. I don’t know why but it does seem like Baptists are little more tightly wound about things. I remember doing a parade on Palm Sunday (it was snowing, which made it not comfy lol) and a nearby Baptist church almost came to a halt and stared at us wide eyed.

Comments are closed.

 
