Saying Goodbye

So as you all know (and if not, just read a few entries back) hubs and bro-in-law went to Florida for a final fishing trip. They left Saturday and got to Florida Sunday. Techincally it shouldn’t have taken that long but they made alot of stops along the way for what hubs figured was his bro saying goodbye to alot of people. Last night I talked to hubs finally. We had texted here and there but I was trying not to bug them too much so that they could enjoy their last trip together. Hubs was pretty upset and said texting wasn’t enough, he needed to hear my voice and just vocally talk. Bro-in-law had started vomiting blood. About 12:30 am they went to a hospital in St. Augustine (my ghosthunting mind wanted to ask how close they were to the light house…i know i know, I am evil). Bro-in-law had started bleeding from other areas. They got him comfy and he passed peacefully in his sleep.

What is so sad about this is the fact they never got on that boat. It had become such a big deal. All Bro-in-law had talked about for the last month was this trip. Weather had delayed it a bit but the closer  it got to the end of the month the more anxious he got. Seems like such a silly thing to get sad about, but knowing how important it was for them to go fishing one last time…..just brings tears to my eyes.

Anyhow my inlaws are heading down. They have a hotel for 3 days so I imagine people won’t get home until the weekend. I have the lovely job of talking to the kids tonight. I don’t think this is something that should wait, nor do I think my kids won’t figure out something is up. Even Alex was a bit of a pain this morning about latching on to me. He knows something is going on. I will just do the best I can.

~ by alegna75 on May 26, 2009.

3 Responses to “Saying Goodbye”

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. It breaks my heart that they didn’t get on the boat, but look at the joy and excitement the anticipation brought to his last days. If you need anything, please let me know.

    • Thank you. I am very glad they did get to spend some bro time together. As hard as hubs is taking it, I think it is better in the long run that they did have some alone time.

  2. I am so sorry to hear that.

Comments are closed.

 
