Opinions Are Just….Opinions.

I am a liberal. I am all for gay marriage. I am pro-choice. I am a supporter of the First Amendment. I want to point this out because ……well……I applaud Miss California Carrie Prejean for giving her honest OPINION.

My two cents: There will never be a time that everyone in this country will be on the same page. No matter how right one group thinks they are, we will not change all of the minds of those who oppose. Even when this country finally acknowledges gay unions as a whole (instead of a few states here and there) there will still be people who think it’s wrong. There are abortion rights, there are still people who think it’s wrong (and in some situations I do think its wrong). People are people and we are very opinionated.

I have never been a fan of Perez Hilton. Ever. Hell I am not a fan of Rosie O’Donnell either. To me they take the idea of liberalism to the extreme and create more harm then good. Perez Hilton asked for her opinion, he got her opinion, and now is allegedly calling her a “bitch” for having an opposing opinion. WTF? Really? Suddenly Perez Hilton is the end-all and be-all on what people must think? I am sorry but this is the land of the FREE which means FREE thinking. When we start dictating to people what they must beleive in we become right wing. Somehow this all reminds me of Spanish Inquisition. If you didn’t think the way you were told you got tortured. Ok so I am going to the extreme here but seriously, she is ENTITLED to beleive what she wants regardless if you or I or some dumbass (who thinks that stalking celebs all day makes him awesome or the ultimate gay) disagree.

Honestly, Perez was looking to stir the pot and get some media flurry around him. I don’t know that his intentions were ever about supporting gay marriage, and that saddens me. He strikes me as someone who would much rather spend his time trying to find ways to get people to notice him. He is one of the reasons why I abhor celeb stalking.

~ by alegna75 on April 21, 2009.

10 Responses to “Opinions Are Just….Opinions.”

  1. I respect her belief (though it isn’t the same as mine) and her cajones for saying what she did. I think, if she had been smarter about her choice of words (perhaps “smarter” isn’t right…maybe “more careful”) she would have won. Knowing who the judges were, and who makes up a lot of the audience for the event, after all her hard work to get where she was…she could have worded her response to not be untrue to her beliefs, and at the same time, not tick off a lot of people.

    That might sound like politically correct mumbo jumbo to some, and again, I think she showed a lot of spunk to say what she did. An answer such as “Despite what my own beliefs might or might not be, America is set up in a way that people can make their own choices, vote their beliefs and pass or protest laws. That’s what makes this such a great country!” might have her wearing the crown right now.

    And yes, Perez Hilton is a big ole publicity wh**e.

  2. As always, I agree with you!

  3. Despite the fact that I’m conservative, pro-life, etc.. I competely agree with you. People should be able to state their beliefs either way here… But its becoming more and more clear that we can’t… and that scares me.

  4. It is VERY scary when someone is criticized for giving an opinion. It takes away our given right of free speech. I don’t anyone who support the KKK but most everyone I know recognizes that they have a right to say what they want about whomever they want no matter how hateful it is (actions of course are completely different). At the same time anyone who has an opposing view has a right to state as such…but resorting to name calling isn’t exactly what I would call stating an opposing view. It comes across really childish!

  5. Yeah… I started to ask what you meant by the last line, but reread your post.. I missed what he called her. I’m sorry but why can’t people just agree to disagree… Its not that hard really lol.

  6. I have been trying to locate online when and where he called her a Bitch. Supposedly it was on Twitter. Since I couldn’t find it that is why I said allegedly. I don’t want to say it’s fact but I have a hard time beleiving he wouldn’t. Just going by his past history.

  7. Perez called her a bitch on a vlog post he did http://perezhilton.com/tv/index.php?ptvid=0bad59ed42807

    That’s the link.

    I do commend her for her opinion in a situation like that, it just wasn’t expressed PC enough.

  8. Thanks for the link! I guess now I can retract “alleged” from the post lol.

  9. I am proud to say I have no idea what you’re talking about! 🙂

Comments are closed.

 
