Shopping Trip

I got a mileage check today. Nothing big. Buttttttt I was wanting to find this yarn shop downtown (Purl’s) before the “sit and knit” Thursday evening, soooooo I went. I bought 2 skeins of this GORGEOUS red silky yarn. Ohhh I could just touch it forever. I am going to make a capelet and thought it would be perfect for me. I also checked to see if they had laceweight yarn,they did but not alot. So after we left I decided to go on the other side of town and check another store out. They had a much wider selection. They also carried acrylics which the other store didn’t. I have to realize that I don’t like acrylics much. I am not trying to be snobbish, but when you touch some cashmere or alpaca…..you just can’t go back. So once I use up the acrylics I have here I won’t buy it again. While at the second store (The Yarn Nook) I decided to get some bamboo needles. I have been wanting some bamboo needles. They weren’t too badly priced, and I got them in a size I don’t have just yet. Oh and I forgot to mention, The Yarn Nook has a BUNCH of lace weight. Working  on these lace gloves….well I love lace. I haven’t done chunky lace yet (made with worsted wool and a much bigger needle). I may give it a whirl. But I like thinner lace. So who knows.

I poked around Ravelry a bit today. I added the capelet to my to-do list. Now I am seriously contemplating making the girls some knee socks. I have seen some super cute ones . And my gothy self is already pre-designing some that I could wear. Then maybe make them some capelets too. OY! My list is getting longer by the second. On that note, I will go. I want to work on the two proejcts I have already started. I have made a vow to not have more than two projects going at once. Any more than that and I might not complete anything lol.

~ by alegna75 on January 6, 2009.

 
