Ongoing Saga

First I have to thank everyone for their positive and supportive comments! I really do appreciate everyone and I am totally over blaming myself.

I have not heard from the school yet, it was towards the end of the school day when she called so I am assuming if she follows through I will hear something by Monday. Yesterday Molly’s bff’s mother, Lucia, called. She also happens to be on the PTA and she called because of the rumors flying around. I have to mention that this woman is new in town. According to Molly, the little girl and her family moved here over the summer. Anyway rumors are flying around, some people are falling for it but several others, including Lucia, are all over this woman for her attitude. Lucia has heard she even has either called or planning to call Department of Social Services and make claims of child abuse. Lovely isn’t it? Anyway Lucia and I talked and she did ask if I had ever dabbled with satanism. I told her no but said I was pagan and maybe that is what set the woman off. Lucia had said that if we hadn’t known each other over the course of our daughters’ school years (they have been bff’s since K and are in 3rd grade now) she probably would have freaked. But having gotten to know us she could care less. Anyway, Lucia has been doing a sort of damage control with some of the other parents. She has also offered to talked to the Principal. I said Thanks but I will deal with it and if I need help I will be sure to call her.

I did talk with Molly some last night. She was very angry and said that she doesn’t even care much for the girl but invited her because some of the kids were mean to her and wanted her to feel welcomed. So my child’s kindness was met with bigotry….really set me off. I ain’t gonna lie, I was ready to hunt the woman down. In the course of our conversation Molly did ask me why I couldn’t try to be like everyone else. She wasn’t mean about how she asked, it was as casual as asking about why lightning happens. So we talked about how I tried to be normal in the past and so on and so forth. What I thought would take maybe 30 minutes to discuss turned into a 2 hour conversation. At the end I stressed to her not to be angry or take out her anger on the little girl. I told her she didn’t have to be friends with someone she didn’t like but she didn’t have to be mean to her either.

One of the things that I am hoping works well for us is the fact that my children have excellent reputations. They have never been in any trouble at the school. They get excellent grades, are well loved by their peers and teachers. I am not extremely involved at the school but I never miss a play, awards ceremony, parent teacher conference or school carnival. I have known many of them since the beginning and we all seem to have a fine relationship. Plus the new assistant principal also happens to be a client of mine (I do her hubby’s quarterly employers taxes ).

Last night I spent quite some time meditating on my own behaviors amidst the latest problem. I also extended a lot of love to the family we are at odds with. I then did do a binding spell on the mother. It seemed most fitting, not just to protect us but to protect her child from her madness and most importantly to protect herself. We will see how things go.

~ by alegna75 on October 12, 2008.

4 Responses to “Ongoing Saga”

  1. No party here this year, lack of funds and lack of knowing anyone this year. Maybe next year. Good thought for you and yours with all that is going on!

  2. You are in my thoughts. Hopefully this woman’s ignorance will not cause harm to your family any further than it has. It’s hard to believe in this day and age that there are still people who judge like this.

    Hopefully all the professionals involved will not be so ignorant.

  3. I don’t know the history here, but I gather from this post that you are having difficulties at your children’s school because of your religious beliefs/practices. As an atheist in the U.S. Bible Belt, I can certainly relate. Atheism isn’t a religion but there are a lot of misconceptions about it, and bigotry toward it.

    You may already know this, but no representative of a public school has any business calling you to inquire about your religious beliefs/practices, and if they do, you do not have answer them. I would suggest telling them that it is irrelevant to anything having to do with your children’s education and that you don’t believe it’s an appropriate line of questioning from a public school employee. That might stop them in their tracks. Discrimination of this sort is a clear First Amendment violation and you may want to consider contacting the ACLU if things become too heated.

    Sorry you’re going through this. I understand the frustration. It’s wrong and hurtful and you and your children shouldn’t even have to deal with it.

    Best wishes,
    Lottie

  4. I am totally amazed at the ignorance of some people. If you end up having any problems with the school and discrimination, I know I saw some good resources at http://www.witchvox.com. They are glad to send information packages to the school districts to educate them on the basic belief systems of Witches and Wiccans.

Comments are closed.

 
