The Hypocrisy of Atheism?

My father is an atheist. He is the only atheist I know. He does not know any other atheists where he lives and he has never used the term “sheep” to speak of anyone who is of any form of religion. I have come across many blogs and chatrooms geared to atheists and about atheism. There is one thing that I don’t understand, and that is the way that I have seen the term “sheep” used.

When I have seen it used it comes across as an extremely negative, horrible thing. To call someone “sheep” is to imply that they follow/part of a herd. This is basic human nature. It’s natural to be drawn to people who do think alike. I have friends of various backgrounds but we all have some common thread. The parents I know share several of the parenting techniques we use. So to call someone “sheep” isn’t really a bad thing, it means they are human and natural. Another thing I have picked up on is that alot of atheists beleive in Science. Science is their answer. Ok well if its human nature to gravitate towards like minded individuals then wouldn’t that relate to science and the thought process of atheists?

Here is where I found the biggest hypocrisy comes in. There are chatrooms, social networks….even a meetup group here in town all geared for atheists. So if atheists are gravitating to like minded individuals, then are they not behaving in the same “sheep-like” manner? Bottom line is that no person should try to put others beneath them. My path is the right path for me. An atheist is on their path, buddhist on their’s, and christians on theirs. I gain nothing by calling anyone a sheep or push my own beleifs on them. Atheists do not gain anything but negative attention by calling someone a “sheep” and pushing their beleifs on another….the same thing they accuse other religious people of doing.

I have had no intention of saying that Atheism is wrong. If anyone feels that way I sincerely apologize and hope you re-read this in a different manner so that maybe my point comes through. I personally enjoy learning about different religions and thought patterns as to what exactly will happen to us when we die. I disagree with some but I do try to at least understand it. I have children that I aim to teach about different religions and thought processes so that I can help them find their true path. As for me, I share this planet with many other people…it would be against my religion to at least not make the effort to be educated and understanding of what goes on.

~ by alegna75 on September 20, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Hypocrisy of Atheism?”

  1. I agree… Most (not all, but most) of the athiests that I’ve met have been downright hostile on the subject. Now, I understand that some religious people try & push their beliefs too… (well meaning but misguided in my opinion) but that doesn’t give them the right to do it back, esp to people who aren’t like that. Me… If someone wants to know what I believe & why then sure I’ll share it! But I’m not going to condemn someone for being different either, I know how that feels… soapbox coming up so I’ll step off now lol

  2. One of my strongest beliefs is that everyone should have the right to worship (or not) as they see fit, as long as everyone involved is a consenting adult.

    Anyone who wants to put others down for their religious beliefs is just wrong.

  3. Amen, sistah.

Comments are closed.

 
